I have started ‘The Prancing Pony’

Drew up all the plans, spent a LOT of time trying to work out measurements and drew out all the shapes to cut out in MDF wood over this weekend.

then my partner Graham helped me cut out some of the pieces today – I pick up a saw, make a pathetic attempt at cutting in a straight line, and he gets all alpha male and takes the saw away and cuts the pieces – hooray!

unfortunately for me, I measured half of the pieces wrongly!!!  I had to allow 6mm for the depth of the wood, so the side pieces had to be cut 6mm shorter.  I’m sat there subtracting 6 from all the sides, and I subtracted CENTIMETRES not millimetres DUHHHHHH

so need to get some more wood on Tuesday because all the sides are too small.  Anyone who knows me will not be surprised – numbers are NOT my strong point.

4 Responses to “I have started ‘The Prancing Pony’”

  1. Peter Kenny Says:

    Peter Kenny Says:
    I left this under the wrong blog. Sorry

    Hi Maddie,
    I love your Hobbit Hole. It is one of the most amazing things I have seen.
    Recently pictures of it have been distributed amongst Lord of the Rings/Hobbit fans and everyone is as amazed as I am. I am a huge Tolkien fan and collector. I live in Australia and in August I am travelling to Wales to attend “The Festival in The Shire” as a presenter. I contacted the organiser of the Festival and he would be interested in your attendance and your Hobbit Hole being displayed in the Collectors Gallery. We could not find an email address for you. For more information check The Festival in The Shire website.
    Please let me know your thoughts. I’m looking forward to your “Prancing Pony”. Awesome work.
    Peter Kenny.

  2. Merri Magic Says:

    What an amazing and exquisite piece of work. I too, have been hooked on LOTR and The Hobbit, ever since reading them in college, 45 years ago. I think the books are among the greatest works ever written, for Tolkien created a world so detailed you can smell the scent of Gandalf’s pipe, as well as feel the heat and despair emanating from Mount Doom.

    I’m so pleased someone has taken it upon themselves to do such a bang-up job of recreating Bilbo and Frodo’s home. Thank you so much for your efforts! I can hardly wait to see what you do with The Prancing Pony.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

